The present George Hotel was originally two private houses which were built in 1770 as part of the 3rd Duke of Argyll’s redevelopment of the town and Inveraray became the first example in Scotland of a planned town.

georgehotel-exteriorThe Duke of Argyll employed the services of the renowned architects William Adam and Robert Mylne and today their buildings retain their whitewashed walls and blackened window surrounds. In 1776 the 5th Duke of Argyll ordered that the ground floor flat of each of these private houses be made into temporary churches for the Gaelic and English speaking congregations. These two churches are now covered by the Public Bar, Front Lounge and Church Hall. How times have changed. In 1860 the two private houses were amalgamated into the George Hotel by the Clark family, in whose possession the hotel still remains.

‘old flag stoned floors, exposed 250 year old walls and four open log fires’

The hotel has been in the Clark family for over 150 years and the seventh generation are now in residence. It has a wonderful ambience with old flag stoned floors, exposed 250 year old walls and four open log fires in the ground floor public rooms which exude a warm welcome. We have live music every Friday and Saturday night. The hotel has its own prawn creeler and our 10 chefs produce the best from sea, lochs, hills and glens. So visit us and take a step back in time.

 

share this content
Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Get to know our story download the app

Download our app on the Apple App Store Download our app on the Google Play Store

From Twitter

@SLLPOnline Whit!!!

Sign up to our newsletter

×